Let's grow your business. 2 new positions just opened Tuesday, 22 September. Book a free call today.
Uncategorised 12 min read

What AI SEO Services Actually Include, and What to Refuse to Pay For

What AI SEO Services Actually Include, and What to Refuse...: Email, SMS and voice outreach from an AI sales agent converging into a booked calendar appointment.
Email, SMS and voice outreach from an AI sales agent converging into a booked calendar appointment.

A real AI SEO scope is about eleven line items, and on our own measurement only some of them change whether an engine cites you. Three get billed with no evidence behind them at all: an llms.txt file, “proprietary AEO schema”, and a single blended AI visibility score. Refuse those three, and buy the rest by named deliverable.

At a glance

  • The scope, in one breath: entity and coverage mapping, answer-first page structure, schema and technical hygiene, internal linking, content production, refresh, off-site placement, per-engine citation polling.
  • What our own polling shows: on LeadsNow’s fixed prompt registry, 1–13 September 2026, leadsnow.ai was cited at least once for 5 of 30 prompts on ChatGPT (browsing) and 10 of 35 on Gemini (grounded), against 74 of 126 prompts that surfaced a leadsnow.ai page on DuckDuckGo.
  • The three to strike from a proposal: llms.txt as a deliverable, AI-specific markup, and any single blended “AI visibility score”.
  • The test: every line must name an artefact you receive, a number that would change if it worked, and the engine and window that number is measured on.

How it works

How to audit an AI SEO scope of work before you sign

01

List every line item

Copy each deliverable out of the proposal into one column. Category headings like ‘ongoing AEO strategy’ are not line items.

02

Apply the three columns

For each line, name the artefact you receive, the number that would change in 90 days, and the engine and window it is measured on.

03

Strike the unevidenced

Delete llms.txt as a priced deliverable, proprietary AEO markup, and any single blended AI visibility score. Demand a rate per engine instead.

04

Baseline before work starts

Agree the fixed prompt set and record today’s per-engine citation rate with its denominator. Re-read the same table at 90 days.

Four passes over the proposal itself: a line item that cannot name an artefact, a number and an engine is a category heading with a price attached.

MAKE MORE SALES.

Pay-Per-Result pricing — We scale sales HARD aligned to your interests, better than anyone else.

What do AI SEO services actually include?

Strip the naming and every credible AI SEO service, AI SEO agency and in-house AI SEO specialist does the same eleven jobs. The scope does not change with the label on the invoice, only who does it and how much gets done.

  1. Entity and coverage mapping — who the engines think you are, and which buyer questions you have no page for.
  2. Answer-first page structure — the answer in the opening paragraph, question-shaped headings, real HTML tables.
  3. Technical crawl, indexation and schema validity.
  4. Internal linking in both directions — new page into its hub, hub back into the page.
  5. Content production against the coverage map, for questions that were counted rather than brainstormed.
  6. Refresh on a named cadence — the shape of it is in our note on how often to update content for AI search.
  7. Off-site placement — being named on domains you do not own.
  8. Per-engine citation polling against a fixed prompt set.
  9. Reporting split by engine, with the raw per-prompt log attached.
  10. A named owner for truth — your case studies, your numbers, your product reality. No vendor supplies this.
  11. Whatever the vendor calls the AI-specific part. This is where the padding lives.

An AI SEO service scope is eleven jobs long, and the eleventh is the one to read carefully.

Want this done for you? We book qualified sales appointments on a Pay-Per-Result basis — you only pay for calls that actually land in your calendar.

Which line items measurably move citation share, and which are just billed

Verdicts drawn from LeadsNow’s own citation polling and from sources opened at the primary. Where there is no evidence either way, the row says so. AirOps’ 2026 State of AI Search is a vendor publication that does not disclose its engines, prompt count, sample size or date range, so it is named in every cell using it.

Line item Verdict Evidence Insist on, or refuse
Entity and coverage mapping Moves it, once A one-off audit; the map only changes when your services or buyers do Pay once. Refuse a recurring line for re-mapping
Answer-first page structure Moves it AirOps, 2026 State of AI Search: “sequential heading structures correlate with 2.8× higher citation likelihood” A before-and-after of a named URL, not a style guide
Technical crawl, indexation, schema validity Precondition AirOps: pages with three or more schema types have a 13% higher citation likelihood — real but modest A crawl report with tickets. Refuse standing “ongoing schema” fees
Internal linking both ways Precondition, unproven size No public multiplier we could verify. We ship it on every page and cannot show you a number Count of links added per page
Content production against a coverage map Moves it — not on the billing cycle Our own: 12 prompts registered 10 Sep 2026 for week-old pages returned 0/12 on DuckDuckGo, 0/6 ChatGPT, 0/4 Gemini at first poll Pages billed as pages, never as citations in the month they ship
Refresh on a named cadence Moves it AirOps: more than 70% of AI-cited pages were updated within 12 months; pages that go more than three months without an update are “over 3× more likely to lose visibility” A refresh log: URL, date, what changed
Off-site placement and third-party mentions Moves it most AirOps: about 85% of brand mentions come from external domains, and brands with “a strong off-site presence are 6.5× more likely to earn visibility in AI search” — AirOps states no baseline for that multiple A named target list. Refuse a 100% on-site scope that calls itself AEO
Per-engine citation polling, fixed prompt set Moves nothing — and is the only line that tells you Our own registry, 1–13 Sep 2026, counted per prompt: 5/30 ChatGPT, 10/35 Gemini, 74/126 DuckDuckGo The raw per-prompt log, not a screenshot
llms.txt file Billed, no measured effect Ahrefs, 137,210 domains, May 2026: 97% of valid llms.txt files got zero requests; AI retrieval bots made 1.1% of the requests (233 fetches) A five-minute chore at most. Refuse it as a priced deliverable
“Proprietary AEO schema” or AI-specific markup Billed, contradicted at source Google Search Central: “There are no additional requirements to appear in AI Overviews or AI Mode, nor other special optimizations necessary” and “There’s also no special schema.org structured data that you need to add” Refuse. Ship standard schema for extraction, not as a cheat code
A single blended “AI visibility score” Billed, hides the answer Our own registry, 1–13 Sep 2026: 17% of prompts cited on ChatGPT against 29% on Gemini Refuse. Demand a rate per engine with its denominator

Row seven is uncomfortable for us: LeadsNow sells on-site work, and the only public figure we could find — AirOps’, on a methodology it does not disclose — puts most brand mentions inside AI answers on domains we do not touch.

What our own polling says about a single “AI visibility score”

LeadsNow runs an AEO monitor against its own domain first: a fixed registry of buyer-phrased prompts is asked of ChatGPT with browsing and Gemini with grounding on a schedule, and each answer parsed for whether leadsnow.ai is cited. Between 1 and 13 September 2026, on prompts registered before 1 September, leadsnow.ai was cited at least once for 5 of 30 prompts on ChatGPT (17%) and 10 of 35 on Gemini (29%) — while the same registry run through DuckDuckGo surfaced a leadsnow.ai page for 74 of 126 prompts (59%). The unit is prompts, not individual answers: each prompt was polled several times in the fortnight.

That is one site, one prompt set, two engines and a fortnight — not an industry benchmark. It still settles a purchasing question. Averaged into one score those become a number true of no engine, and the 59% DuckDuckGo figure drags the blend upwards while saying nothing about whether an assistant quotes you. Ask for share of answer reported per engine, with the denominator printed beside it.

If we can’t make you money, we don’t deserve yours.

Pay-Per-Result pricing — performance-based alignment.

50,769+
AI-booked appointments
Average sales lift — median closer to 4×
Pay-Per-Result
Performance-based alignment

Is an “AI SEO specialist” a different scope from an AI SEO agency?

No — the eleven line items are identical. People search for ai seo specialists and ai seo agency as if they were different products; they are the same product bought in different units. One salaried person can own the mapping, the technical work and the truth, then runs out of hours around content and polling. A team carries all eleven and will never own line ten, your proof and your product reality.

The failure mode to price in is that nobody owns line ten. Our breakdown of what an AI SEO retainer delivers week by week sets out how the cadence divides.

What the scope costs in hours if you run it in-house

Price the same work as your own time, substituting your inputs:

  • Measurement. 40 prompts × 2 engines = 80 polls a cycle, fortnightly = 160 a month. By hand — ask, read the citations, log the domains — budget three minutes each: 8 hours a month.
  • Publishing. 8 pages a month at 4 hours each, including opening every external number at source: 32 hours.
  • Refresh. A 100-page library, half of it re-touched within six months, is roughly 8 pages a month at an hour each: 8 hours.
  • Total: about 48 hours a month — a quarter of a full-time person, before any technical or off-site work.

That arithmetic is the buying decision, yours to do rather than ours. Where the crossover sits:

Your situation Monthly measurement load Sensible call
Under 20 prompts, 1 page a week Under 3 hours Run it yourself — our DIY AI search visibility tracking guide has the method
20–40 prompts, 1–2 pages a week 4–8 hours Keep measurement in-house, buy production
Over 40 prompts, 2+ pages a week, multiple engines 8+ hours before analysis Polling stops fitting in a marketing manager’s week and gets skipped first

Measurement is the line item that gets silently dropped in-house, and it is the only one that tells you whether the other ten worked.

The Named-Deliverable Test: how to read a scope of work in ten minutes

Give every line in the proposal three columns. A line that cannot fill all three is a category, not a deliverable.

  1. The artefact. What lands in your inbox or CMS because this line exists? “A refresh log with URL, date and what changed” passes; “ongoing AEO strategy” does not.
  2. The number. Which figure differs in 90 days if this line worked, and what is it today? If nobody can state today’s value, the line cannot be assessed later.
  3. The engine and window. Measured on which engine, over what period, against how many prompts? A citation rate with no denominator is not a measurement.

Run it on the eleven items and the padding falls out. llms.txt fails column two: no number moves. Proprietary AEO markup fails column three: Google says there is nothing there to measure. A blended score fails column three too, having no single engine behind it. The long version of the first is our write-up of what the llms.txt server-log evidence actually shows.

A scope that concedes in writing that this month’s pages will not be cited this month, that on the only published figure most brand mentions sit on domains you do not own, and that no citation can be guaranteed, is one you can hold someone to.

If a line in an AI SEO proposal cannot name an artefact, a number and an engine, you are being sold a category.

Frequently asked questions

Should an AI SEO proposal include an llms.txt file as a paid deliverable?

No. Ahrefs studied all 137,210 domains in its Web Analytics population that received traffic in May 2026 and found that of the roughly 38,000 serving a valid llms.txt file, 97% saw no requests for it whatsoever that month; AI retrieval bots made 1.1% of the requests those files did receive, 233 fetches in total. Publish it as a five-minute chore if you like. Paying for it, or accepting it as evidence a vendor is doing AEO, is not defensible.

Is “AI SEO specialist” a real role or a renamed SEO job?

A real role with one added deliverable, not a new discipline. The scope is the same eleven line items SEO always had, plus one that did not exist before: polling a fixed prompt set against named engines and logging which sources each answer cites. If a specialist’s scope has no measurement line, you have hired a renamed SEO. If it has one, ask which engines and how many prompts — those two numbers decide whether the reporting means anything.

Can an AI SEO agency guarantee citations in ChatGPT or AI Overviews?

No, and a guarantee is a reason to stop reading. Google’s documentation on AI features in Google Search states that “there are no additional requirements to appear in AI Overviews or AI Mode, nor other special optimizations necessary” and that there is “no special schema.org structured data that you need to add”. No documented lever, no guarantee. What can be committed to is a fixed prompt set, a baseline, and a per-engine rate on a schedule.

How do I check whether an agency’s AI search reporting is real?

Ask for the raw per-prompt log for one past month: prompt text, engine, date, and the domains cited in each answer. Real monitoring produces a boring table with plenty of rows where you do not appear. A screenshot of one favourable ChatGPT answer is not evidence: the same prompt asked twice can return different sources. Check the denominator has not moved between reports — a rate that improves because the prompt set shrank is not an improvement.

What should I refuse to pay for in an AI SEO scope of work?

Three things: an llms.txt file as a priced deliverable, anything sold as proprietary AEO schema or AI-specific markup, and a single blended AI visibility score in place of per-engine rates. Beyond those, refuse any line failing the Named-Deliverable Test: if it cannot name the artefact you receive, the number that would change, and the engine and window it is measured on, it is a category heading with a price.

Pay-Per-Result appointments

See if we’re a fit

We book qualified sales appointments for you and you pay on results, not retainers. Our booking page asks a few quick questions so you find out in two minutes whether that model suits your business.

  • 50,769+ appointments booked without cold calling.
  • Pay-Per-Result pricing — you pay for booked, qualified calls.
  • Pick your own time on our live calendar, no phone tag.

View all articles

Pay-Per-Result · No retainers

Turn this into booked sales calls.

Our AI agents — trained on 50,769+ booked appointments — fill your calendar with pre-qualified buyers. You only pay when calls land.

Keep reading

Related on Leads Now AI

The thesis behind everything we do

Why Pay-Per-Result is the only marketing pricing model that aligns the agency with you

Leads Now AI is a 100% Pay-Per-Result marketing agency. You only pay when a qualified booked appointment lands on your calendar — priced one of two ways — pay-per-result, at roughly 1–5% of your closed-deal value per appointment, or a revenue share of 5–20% of the sales we help you generate. Both bill on outcomes. Not on clicks. Not on lead-form fills. Not on retainer months. Not on “strategy hours.” If the calendar stays empty, you owe zero. See full pricing →

1. Incentives align

The agency only succeeds when you succeed. We eat the cost of bad ad creative, bad lists, ICP mismatches and no-shows. You never pay for our learning curve.

2. Self-selecting shortlist

Only an agency confident in its delivery can operate this model. The pool of Pay-Per-Result agencies is tiny precisely because most agencies can’t survive on it. Pick from the agencies who can.

3. Cost cannot detach from revenue

Sized to 1–5% of closed-deal value, your acquisition cost stays sustainable across LTV bands. A $500-membership business and a $50,000-engagement business can both run the model profitably.

4. No retainer trap

The standard engagement carries no monthly retainer — nothing arrives on your invoice regardless of outcome. No 6 or 12-month lock-in, no clawback on appointments already delivered, cancel any time with 7 days notice. Early-stage businesses that need the sales systems built first are quoted scoped groundwork up front, never a standing fee.

5. De-risks the pilot

Test before commitment. A small scope-based setup fee covers hard build costs; everything after that is purely outcome-linked. There’s no “we’ll see how it performs after $30k of spend.”

6. Forces agency discipline

If our AI agents qualify poorly, if our reminders fail, if our no-show recovery doesn’t fire — we eat the cost. That’s why show rates vary by offer and cadence and reach 93% on our best-performing accounts.

The volume argument

A fully-ramped human SDR produces on the order of $200,000 a year. They work one conversation at a time, sleep, take leave, and cap out at a territory. Our agents work every lead in the list in parallel — responding in seconds, following up indefinitely without getting bored, and adding capacity without adding headcount.

At 100 qualified booked appointments a month against a $5,000 average deal value, that is $500,000 of booked pipeline every month — roughly what one SDR produces in two and a half years.

Read that precisely: booked pipeline means appointments multiplied by your average deal value. It is not closed revenue — closing is your side of the table, and your close rate decides what lands. The inputs above are a worked example; we size them to your actual deal economics before quoting. What we can evidence on our own numbers: 50,769+ appointments delivered since 2017, database reactivation converting 4.4–8.9% on dormant CRM lists, and show rates that vary by offer and reminder cadence — up to 93% on our best-performing accounts.

The proof: 50,769+ AI-booked sales appointments delivered since 2017 across coaches, consultants, RTOs, course creators, finance brokers and B2B service firms in Australia, USA, UK, Canada, NZ and Europe. Named clients include Sam Tajvidi (121 Brokers), Marcus Wilkinson (Iron Body), Foundr, SheSells.online and Lambda Academy. Wikidata Q139846230. See full Pay-Per-Result pricing →