Country club initiation fees in the US run from about $1,000 at small yacht and regional clubs to $100,000 and more at premium golf clubs. Front Office Sports reported that Rancho Santa Fe Country Club raised its fee to $100,000 in 2024. How a club structures the fee matters almost as much as its size.
- Published range: $1,000 (Shattemuc Yacht Club, New York, 2026 schedule) to $1,500 (Salina Country Club, Kansas) at the low end. At the top end, Front Office Sports reported $400,000 at Silverleaf in the Phoenix area and up to $650,000 at the Apogee Club in Florida (August 2025).
- Four structures: equity, non-equity (non-refundable), refundable on resale, and payment plan. Some clubs also waive the fee in exchange for a longer commitment.
- The fee is not the cost. Salina charges $495 a month in Signature dues, and some tiers carry a quarterly food and beverage minimum. Shattemuc adds monthly building and property funds to its dues.
- “Refundable” is conditional. Refunds are usually paid on resale or when a replacement member joins.
- Split-fee scenario: in our worked example, splitting a $60,000 fee into four payments raises joins from 12 to 15.6 a year at mid-band assumptions, and cuts year-one cash from $720,000 to $234,000.
Published country club initiation fees, by club
Most private clubs do not publish their fees. These do, on their own pages or in a named publication. Every figure below was read on September 29, 2026.
| Club (location) | Initiation fee | Structure | Annual cost beyond the fee | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rancho Santa Fe Country Club (CA) | $100,000, up from $75,000; $50,000 in 2021 | Not stated | Not stated | Front Office Sports, August 13, 2025 |
| Salina Country Club (KS) | $1,500 (Signature and Senior tiers) | Waived with a 24-month commitment | $495 a month Signature dues; $150 a quarter food and beverage minimum on Senior | Club membership page, undated |
| Eastport Yacht Club (Annapolis, MD) | $5,000 voting member | $2,000 at joining, balance at $150 a quarter | $1,600 voting dues | Club schedule, as of January 2020 |
| Lake Champlain Yacht Club (Shelburne, VT) | $3,000 full | Non-refundable; one, two or three installments | $1,100 full dues | Club dues page, undated |
| Dolphin Yacht Club (Marblehead, MA) | $1,500 | One-time | $2,425 for 2026, including a $400 dining credit | Club membership page, 2026 |
| Shattemuc Yacht Club (Ossining, NY) | $1,000 regular | One-time | $2,355 plus $42 a month building fund and $58 a month property improvement fund | Club dues page, 2026 |
Treat any single “average initiation fee” with caution: we found no audited national figure.
How it works
How a club sets an initiation fee a prospect will pay
Pick the structure
Choose equity, non-equity, refundable on resale, or a payment plan. Each changes what the member gets back and what the club owes.
Run the split-fee test
Model joins and year-one cash with and without installments. Split only if the club can carry the cash gap.
Quote the full cost
State fee, dues, food minimums and capital funds in the first conversation, before the tour.
Follow up every tour
Call back fast and keep contact with touring prospects who did not join, and with those who left the waitlist.
MAKE MORE SALES.
Pay-Per-Result pricing — We scale sales HARD aligned to your interests, better than anyone else.
The four initiation fee structures
A country club initiation fee is one of four structures. Each changes what the member gets back, what the club owes, and how the price reads to someone enquiring.
| Structure | What the member buys | What comes back on leaving | Published example | Effect on the prospect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Equity | A share of the club; members collectively own it | Part or all of the equity portion, usually on resale, often minus a transfer fee | None verified on a club’s own site for this page | Largest check, but framed as an asset |
| Non-equity (non-refundable) | The right to join; the club stays owned by others | Nothing | Lake Champlain YC: $3,000 non-refundable | Lower headline, clear sunk cost |
| Refundable on resale or replacement | A deposit returned when conditions are met | A percentage, often only when a new member takes the place or on a ratio such as one refund per three new joins (per KGG Law) | None verified on a club’s own site for this page | Feels safe; the conditions decide the reality |
| Payment plan | The same membership, paid over time | Depends on the underlying structure | Eastport YC: $2,000 down, $150 a quarter; Crescent Sail YC (Grosse Pointe Farms, MI): $1,350 over three seasons with a $75 premium | Lowers the first payment; total cost can be higher |
A fifth variant is the commitment waiver. Salina Country Club waives its $1,500 initiation fee for members who commit to 24 months instead of 12. That trades the fee for guaranteed dues.
Want this done for you? We book qualified sales appointments on a Pay-Per-Result basis — you only pay for calls that actually land in your calendar.
What “refundable” usually means in practice
A refundable initiation fee is rarely refundable on demand. Refunds are usually paid when the membership is resold, or when enough new members join. KGG Law (a plaintiff firm, updated June 2026) gives the example of one refund paid for every three new members who join, and notes that some clubs have changed their policies.
The accounting follows the structure. RSM’s 2023 guide for member-owned private clubs says an initiation fee that buys a vote, liquidation rights and a certificate is treated as a capital contribution, outside ASC 606. Otherwise the club may recognize it over the expected length of membership. When an equity member is refunded, the club issues a Form 1099-B. This is general information, not accounting or tax advice.
For a buyer, the refundable part of a country club initiation fee is worth only as much as the resale queue behind it.
Worked scenario: splitting a $60,000 initiation fee
There is no published study showing how much a payment plan changes join rates, so this is a worked scenario, not a finding. Every input below is an assumption to replace with your own numbers:
- 120 qualified membership enquiries a year, and 50% of them take a tour.
- With the fee as a lump sum, 20% of touring prospects join.
- The split option is $15,000 at joining plus three annual payments of $16,000, a $63,000 total that includes a 5% premium.
- Tour-to-join rises to 22% / 26% / 30% (low / mid / high assumption).
| Option | Joins a year | Enquiry-to-join rate | Year-one initiation cash | Contracted initiation value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lump sum $60,000 | 12 | 10% | $720,000 | $720,000 |
| Split, low (22%) | 13.2 | 11% | $198,000 | $831,600 |
| Split, mid (26%) | 15.6 | 13% | $234,000 | $982,800 |
| Split, high (30%) | 18 | 15% | $270,000 | $1,134,000 |
With a 5% premium, the split fee earns more contracted value even with no extra joins (12 × $63,000 = $756,000), provided every installment is paid. The real test is cash, and we call it the split-fee test. Split the fee only if the club can carry a year-one cash gap of roughly $450,000 to $520,000 in this scenario. The extra joiners also need to fit unsold capacity, and the plan must say what happens to unpaid installments when a member resigns. A split fee changes when the club is paid, not whether the prospect can afford the dues.
If we can’t make you money, we don’t deserve yours.
Pay-Per-Result pricing — performance-based alignment.
Costs beyond the initiation fee
An enquiry that stalls at the fee often stalls at the annual total. List the whole cost when you quote:
- Dues. $495 a month ($5,940 a year) for Salina’s Signature tier. $1,600 a year for an Eastport Yacht Club voting member (January 2020 schedule).
- Food and beverage minimums. $150 a quarter on Salina’s Senior tier. Dolphin Yacht Club builds a $400 dining credit into its 2026 fee.
- Capital and building funds. Shattemuc adds $42 a month to its building fund and $58 a month to its property improvement fund on top of dues.
- Minimum commitment. Salina requires an initial 12-month commitment on all memberships.
What initiation fees do to enquiry volume
A high fee filters enquiries, and a waitlist can hide how many good prospects walk away. Demand has grown underneath this. The National Golf Foundation reported in October 2025 that the number of private club members has risen almost 50% since 2019, while private club golfers remain less than 8% of all golfers.
Three practical consequences for a membership director:
- Qualify on the full annual cost early. State the initiation fee, dues and minimums in the first conversation, before the tour.
- Answer fast. A prospect comparing three clubs is lost to the one that calls back first. The response-time mechanics are in our guide to speed-to-lead automation in the US.
- Work the list you already have. Waitlisted prospects who left the queue, and members who resigned during a fee rise, are the first people to call when a fee structure changes. The method is in database reactivation services in the USA.
Running this in-house takes time. The scenario above needs 120 qualified enquiries a year, 60 tours, and follow-up on the 42 to 47 touring prospects who do not join. Assume one hour per tour, and six five-minute contact attempts per enquiry and per non-joiner. That is about 12 hours a month for one membership director, much of it outside office hours. How clubs sell memberships, corporate days and functions as separate products is set out on our golf club lead generation page. Providers that do this work are compared in our golf club lead generation agency comparison.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a country club initiation fee?
Published US fees range from about $1,000 at small yacht and regional clubs to $100,000 or more at premium golf clubs. Rancho Santa Fe Country Club raised its fee from $75,000 to $100,000 in 2024, according to Front Office Sports. The same publication reported $400,000 at Silverleaf in the Phoenix area.
Are country club initiation fees refundable?
Sometimes, and usually only on conditions. Equity clubs typically refund part of the equity portion when the membership is resold, often minus a transfer fee. Some clubs pay one refund for every three new members who join. Read the membership agreement before paying.
What is the difference between an equity and a non-equity country club?
In an equity club, members collectively own the club, and part of the initiation fee is a capital stake that may be refunded on resale. In a non-equity club, someone else owns the club, and the initiation fee buys the right to join with nothing back on leaving.
Can you pay a country club initiation fee in installments?
Many clubs allow it. Eastport Yacht Club takes $2,000 at joining and the balance at $150 a quarter. Lake Champlain Yacht Club allows one, two or three installments on its $3,000 fee. Crescent Sail Yacht Club spreads $1,350 over three seasons with a $75 premium.
Is a country club membership worth it?
That depends on use and total cost, not the initiation fee alone. Add the fee, spread over the years you expect to stay, to annual dues, food minimums and capital assessments, then divide by the rounds or visits you will actually make. At Salina Country Club, Signature dues alone are $5,940 a year.
Pay-Per-Result appointments
See if we’re a fit
We book qualified sales appointments for you and you pay on results, not retainers. Our booking page asks a few quick questions so you find out in two minutes whether that model suits your business.
- 50,769+ appointments booked without cold calling.
- Pay-Per-Result pricing — you pay for booked, qualified calls.
- Pick your own time on our live calendar, no phone tag.
