Let's grow your business. 2 new positions just opened Tuesday, 15 September. Book a free call today.
Uncategorised 12 min read

Cost Per Qualified Opportunity: US B2B SaaS Benchmarks 2026

Cost Per Qualified Opportunity: A lead generation funnel narrowing through four stages, with revenue leaking at each step.
A lead generation funnel narrowing through four stages, with revenue leaking at each step.

Cost per qualified opportunity is total pipeline-generation spend for a period divided by the opportunities created from that spend that cleared a written qualification bar. No US publisher reports one for B2B SaaS. Dividing First Page Sage’s $237 blended cost per lead by its 6.2% lead-to-opportunity rate puts a ceiling near $3,820.

At a glance: cost per qualified opportunity, B2B SaaS, US 2026

  • Formula: qualified-pipeline spend for a window ÷ opportunities created from that window’s leads.
  • Derived US B2B SaaS figures: about $2,645 organic, $3,820 blended, $5,000 paid — arithmetic on two published First Page Sage reports that define a lead differently, so read them as ceilings rather than as a benchmark.
  • Numerator warning: paid media is 31.4% of the average marketing budget and labor 24.5% in the Gartner 2026 CMO Spend Survey of 401 marketing leaders, fielded January–March 2026. Gartner’s own release is not publicly readable, so those figures are as reported by Chief Marketer and Marketing Dive. An ad-spend-only number is not a fully loaded number.
  • Almost nobody measures it: 18% of B2B marketing teams track cost per opportunity, per Benchmarkit’s 2025 B2B Marketing Benchmarks (2024 data, 323 B2B technology companies).
  • It is not cost per lead, cost per MQL, cost per SQL or CAC. Those are four other denominators.

How it works

How to cost a qualified opportunity in four steps

01

Fix the numerator

Decide whether the number is working media only or fully loaded with payroll, martech and agency fees. Write it down once and hold it everywhere.

02

Write the qualification bar

Stage-gate the CRM so a second person would open the same opportunity record you would. No written bar means no denominator.

03

Divide by the cohort

Divide the window’s spend by the opportunities created from that window’s leads, not by whatever opened this month.

04

Re-cost at closed deals

Carry the same definition through to cost per closed deal. A higher cost per opportunity from a tighter bar often wins there.

Fix the numerator and the qualification bar before you divide, or the number you publish cannot be compared with anyone else’s.

MAKE MORE SALES.

Pay-Per-Result pricing — We scale sales HARD aligned to your interests, better than anyone else.

What is a qualified opportunity, and what is it not?

A qualified opportunity is a named account with a named buyer that a salesperson has accepted into the pipeline against a written bar. Everything upstream of that is a lead, an MQL or an SQL; everything downstream is a customer. Five costs get called “cost per opportunity” in the same conversation and they are not interchangeable:

  • Cost per lead — denominator is any contact record. First Page Sage defines a lead as “a direct connection via e-mail, phone or in-person introduction to a prospective customer” in its cost report, but counts form fills, free-trial signups and demo downloads as leads in its conversion research. One publisher, two definitions.
  • Cost per MQL — denominator is a marketing score threshold, set by you, comparable to nobody.
  • Cost per SQL — denominator is a lead sales agreed to work.
  • Cost per qualified opportunity — denominator is an opportunity record opened in the CRM at a stated stage.
  • CAC — denominator is a won customer, and the numerator is usually all of sales and marketing.

The gap between the first and the fourth is roughly 16 to 1 in B2B SaaS: at a 6.2% lead-to-opportunity rate, about 16 leads produce one opportunity. A table that quotes a $237 lead next to a $3,800 opportunity is not showing a price difference, it is showing two different units. We keep the stage definitions we use in our lead qualification framework, and the per-stage cost view in sales pipeline stages and what they cost.

Want this done for you? We book qualified sales appointments on a Pay-Per-Result basis — you only pay for calls that actually land in your calendar.

What do the published US benchmarks actually measure?

We checked every source that ranks for this question between 13 and 15 September 2026. Not one publishes a cost per qualified opportunity with both a stated opportunity definition and a disclosed sample size. Here is what each number is really counting.

Published figure Source, date Numerator Denominator Sample disclosed A CPQO?
$237 blended / $310 paid / $164 organic CPL, B2B SaaS First Page Sage, Average Cost Per Lead by Industry; data Jan 2022–Jun 2025 “Total marketing spend” — composition not stated One lead No No
6.2% lead-to-opportunity, B2B SaaS First Page Sage, Lead-to-Opportunity Conversion Rate; data 2019–2025 Opportunities — met sales, discussed pricing, received a proposal Leads, defined more broadly than in the CPL report: form fills, free-trial signups, demo downloads No No — it is the bridge
12% SQL-to-closed-won, B2B SaaS First Page Sage, SQL to Closed Won by Industry; data 2019–2025 n/a (a rate) An SQL, which sits before an opportunity in the same taxonomy No No
31.4% of budget to paid media, 24.5% to labor Gartner 2026 CMO Spend Survey, read via Chief Marketer and Marketing Dive; 401 respondents, Jan–Mar 2026 Budget composition n/a Yes, 401 No
18% of teams measure cost per opportunity Benchmarkit 2025 B2B Marketing Benchmarks; 2024 data, 323 companies n/a n/a Yes, 323 No

The quotable finding: the most-cited US cost benchmark for B2B SaaS measures leads, not opportunities, and discloses no sample size. Our full sourced roll-up of the lead-level figures sits on US cost per lead benchmarks for 2026; this page is the next denominator down.

How do I derive a cost per qualified opportunity from published data?

You divide a cost per lead by a lead-to-opportunity rate from the same publisher — and then you check whether the two reports are counting the same leads. First Page Sage publishes both for B2B SaaS, but they are two separate reports and their lead definitions do not line up, which is the first thing the arithmetic has to survive:

Channel mix Published CPL (B2B SaaS) ÷ lead-to-opportunity 6.2% Derived cost per qualified opportunity
Organic $164 $164 ÷ 0.062 ~$2,645
Blended $237 $237 ÷ 0.062 ~$3,820
Paid $310 $310 ÷ 0.062 ~$5,000

Four caveats, all of which travel with the number. First, the two reports do not define a lead the same way. The cost report counts “a direct connection via e-mail, phone or in-person introduction to a prospective customer”; the conversion report counts “any contact form fill or direct contact that indicated an interest” and says client data “often included free trial signups and demo downloads.” The conversion report’s lead pool is the broader of the two, so its rate is depressed relative to the leads the cost report is pricing, and dividing by a depressed rate inflates the result. Treat $2,645, $3,820 and $5,000 as ceilings, not midpoints. Second, First Page Sage’s opportunity bar is strict — met the sales team, discussed pricing, received a proposal — so if you open an opportunity record at the first qualified discovery call, your denominator is larger and your true figure is lower again. Third, the two reports cover different windows, January 2022–June 2025 for cost and 2019–2025 for conversion. Fourth, neither discloses a sample size. Publish it as a derivation with all four caveats attached, never as a benchmark.

The trap in the same dataset: you cannot chain the 6.2% lead-to-opportunity rate with the 12% SQL-to-closed-won rate to get cost per customer. In that publisher’s own funnel an SQL comes before an opportunity, so chaining them counts one stage twice. Most “full funnel” math you will be shown in a vendor deck does exactly this.

If we can’t make you money, we don’t deserve yours.

Pay-Per-Result pricing — performance-based alignment.

50,769+
AI-booked appointments
Average sales lift — median closer to 4×
Pay-Per-Result
Performance-based alignment

What goes in the numerator — ad spend only or fully loaded?

Both are legitimate; mixing them in one table is not. The scale of the difference is the thing to internalize: in the Gartner 2026 CMO Spend Survey, as reported by Chief Marketer, paid media accounts for 31.4% of the marketing budget, labor 24.5% and marketing technology 19.4%. A media-only cost per qualified opportunity is therefore counting under a third of what the function actually costs. Most of Gartner’s 401 respondents work for companies with annual revenue of $1 billion or more, so treat that split as a direction, not a multiplier for a $20M ARR business.

Decision you are making Numerator to use Include Exclude
Kill or keep a channel next month Working media only Ad spend, data and list costs, per-message costs Payroll, tooling, content production
Set a pipeline target or report to a board Fully loaded demand generation Media, SDR and marketing payroll plus employer costs, martech, agency fees Product, customer success, executive time
Compare in-house against outsourced Fully loaded, with employer costs Everything above, plus recruiting and ramp Nothing
Compare yourself to a published figure Whatever that publisher used Only what its methodology states Everything it does not state — usually unknowable

The headcount half of row three is already costed at source: our page on what a US SDR actually costs in 2026 builds the fully loaded seat from the Bureau of Labor Statistics employer-cost data. This page deliberately does not repeat that math — that one prices the input, this one prices the output.

Why is there no published cost-per-qualified-opportunity benchmark?

Because the denominator is not standardized and most teams never compute it. Benchmarkit’s 2025 B2B Marketing Benchmarks, built on 2024 data from 323 B2B technology companies, found only 18% of marketing organizations measure cost per opportunity, against 52% measuring marketing cost per dollar of pipeline; only around 10% of participants could supply marketing expense per dollar of new-logo ARR at all. Forrester put the cause plainly when it published its standard stage definitions for the B2B Revenue Waterfall in January 2021: “B2B organizations are often misaligned on definitions of waterfall stages due to vague language and assumptions about what stages mean.” That report is itself paywalled at $1,495, which is part of why the definitions never propagate. An industry that cannot agree what stage 2 means cannot produce a credible cost per stage 2.

The four-line rule for publishing your own number

If a cost-per-opportunity figure cannot be written in four lines — spend, bar, window, lag — it is an anecdote, not a benchmark. Put these four lines directly under the number, in your board pack and on any page where you quote it:

  1. Spend: exactly what is in the numerator. “Working media plus SDR payroll and employer costs; excludes content salaries.”
  2. Bar: the written qualification test, stage-gated in the CRM. Budget confirmed, decision-maker on the call, timeline inside two quarters — whatever it is, in writing, so a second person would open the same record you would.
  3. Window: the period the spend covers.
  4. Lag: match the cohort, not the calendar. Divide this month’s spend by the opportunities that came from this month’s leads, not by the opportunities that happened to open this month. Get this wrong in a growing quarter and you flatter yourself; get it wrong in a flat one and you kill a working channel.

Two teams running the four lines can compare numbers. Two teams quoting $2,000 without them are comparing nothing.

When is a higher cost per qualified opportunity the better number?

Whenever the bar moved. Tightening qualification removes opportunities from the denominator faster than it removes cost from the numerator, so the metric rises by construction — and rises again if the sales team stops working accounts that were never going to buy. Run the comparison at the stage that pays you. Take 100 opportunities at $2,000 each closing at 10% on a $30,000 ACV: $200,000 spent, 10 customers, $300,000 in first-year ACV. Now take 40 opportunities at $4,000 each closing at 28%: $160,000 spent, 11 customers, $330,000. The second costs twice as much per opportunity, spends less in total and produces more revenue. Substitute your own ACV and close rate; the crossover is wherever the close-rate gain exceeds the cost-per-opportunity gain in percentage terms.

This is the honest reason our own cost per booked conversation reads high next to a lead-generation quote. LeadsNow books on a pay-per-result basis across B2B appointment setting — 50,769+ AI-booked appointments since 2017 — with qualification applied before the meeting is confirmed rather than after it is wasted, and a tighter bar is a smaller denominator. The number to hold us or anyone else to is the cost per closed deal, computed with the four lines above. Doing it in-house is entirely possible: the honest cost is one person owning CRM stage hygiene, roughly a day a month reconciling spend to cohorts, and the discipline to leave the bar alone for two quarters so the series is comparable. The strategic layer sits on our B2B SaaS lead generation hub.

Frequently asked questions

What is a good cost per qualified opportunity for B2B SaaS in the US?

There is no published benchmark to answer that against. The defensible derived ceiling is about $3,820 blended, from First Page Sage’s $237 B2B SaaS cost per lead divided by its 6.2% lead-to-opportunity rate — two reports with different lead definitions, so the real number sits below it. “Good” is whatever leaves a workable gap between cost per closed deal and first-year ACV at your close rate.

Is cost per qualified opportunity the same as CAC?

No. CAC divides sales and marketing cost by won customers; cost per qualified opportunity divides pipeline-generation cost by opportunities created. At a 25% opportunity win rate, CAC is four times the cost per qualified opportunity before you add anything to the numerator. They are different denominators and different questions.

Should SDR salaries be in the numerator?

If the number is for a board or for an in-house-versus-outsourced decision, yes — labor is 24.5% of the average marketing budget in the Gartner 2026 CMO Spend Survey of 401 marketing leaders, as reported by Marketing Dive, and leaving it out is not a rounding error. If the number is for a weekly channel decision, use working media only and label it that way.

Why is my cost per MQL so much lower than my cost per opportunity?

Because roughly 16 leads become one opportunity in B2B SaaS at a 6.2% lead-to-opportunity rate, and your MQL bar sits somewhere in between at a threshold only you defined. A falling cost per MQL with a flat cost per opportunity means the MQL bar moved, not that acquisition got cheaper.

Can I chain published conversion benchmarks to estimate my own number?

Only within one dataset, and only where the stages do not overlap. First Page Sage publishes 12% SQL-to-closed-won for B2B SaaS and 6.2% lead-to-opportunity, but an SQL precedes an opportunity in that taxonomy, so multiplying the two double-counts a stage. Chaining rates across two publishers with different stage definitions produces a number with no meaning at all.

Pay-Per-Result appointments

See if we’re a fit

We book qualified sales appointments for you and you pay on results, not retainers. Our booking page asks a few quick questions so you find out in two minutes whether that model suits your business.

  • 50,769+ appointments booked without cold calling.
  • Pay-Per-Result pricing — you pay for booked, qualified calls.
  • Pick your own time on our live calendar, no phone tag.

View all articles

Pay-Per-Result · No retainers

Turn this into booked sales calls.

Our AI agents — trained on 50,769+ booked appointments — fill your calendar with pre-qualified buyers. You only pay when calls land.

Keep reading

Related on Leads Now AI

The thesis behind everything we do

Why Pay-Per-Result is the only marketing pricing model that aligns the agency with you

Leads Now AI is a 100% Pay-Per-Result marketing agency. You only pay when a qualified booked appointment lands on your calendar — priced one of two ways — pay-per-result, at roughly 1–5% of your closed-deal value per appointment, or a revenue share of 10–20% of the sales we help you generate. Both bill on outcomes. Not on clicks. Not on lead-form fills. Not on retainer months. Not on “strategy hours.” If the calendar stays empty, you owe zero. See full pricing →

1. Incentives align

The agency only succeeds when you succeed. We eat the cost of bad ad creative, bad lists, ICP mismatches and no-shows. You never pay for our learning curve.

2. Self-selecting shortlist

Only an agency confident in its delivery can operate this model. The pool of Pay-Per-Result agencies is tiny precisely because most agencies can’t survive on it. Pick from the agencies who can.

3. Cost cannot detach from revenue

Sized to 1–5% of closed-deal value, your acquisition cost stays sustainable across LTV bands. A $500-membership business and a $50,000-engagement business can both run the model profitably.

4. No retainer trap

The standard engagement carries no monthly retainer — nothing arrives on your invoice regardless of outcome. No 6 or 12-month lock-in, no clawback on appointments already delivered, cancel any time with 7 days notice. Early-stage businesses that need the sales systems built first are quoted scoped groundwork up front, never a standing fee.

5. De-risks the pilot

Test before commitment. A small scope-based setup fee covers hard build costs; everything after that is purely outcome-linked. There’s no “we’ll see how it performs after $30k of spend.”

6. Forces agency discipline

If our AI agents qualify poorly, if our reminders fail, if our no-show recovery doesn’t fire — we eat the cost. That’s why the show-rate benchmark sits at 60–75%+.

The volume argument

A fully-ramped human SDR produces on the order of $200,000 a year. They work one conversation at a time, sleep, take leave, and cap out at a territory. Our agents work every lead in the list in parallel — responding in seconds, following up indefinitely without getting bored, and adding capacity without adding headcount.

At 100 qualified booked appointments a month against a $5,000 average deal value, that is $500,000 of booked pipeline every month — roughly what one SDR produces in two and a half years.

Read that precisely: booked pipeline means appointments multiplied by your average deal value. It is not closed revenue — closing is your side of the table, and your close rate decides what lands. The inputs above are a worked example; we size them to your actual deal economics before quoting. What we can evidence on our own numbers: 1,425 qualified appointments in 9 months from our own outbound (3.9% list-to-appointment), 50,769+ appointments delivered since 2017, database reactivation converting 4.4–8.9% on dormant CRM lists, and a 60–75%+ show rate.

The proof: 50,769+ AI-booked sales appointments delivered since 2017 across coaches, consultants, RTOs, course creators, finance brokers and B2B service firms in Australia, USA, UK, Canada, NZ and Europe. Named clients include Sam Tajvidi (121 Brokers), Marcus Wilkinson (Iron Body), Foundr, SheSells.online and Lambda Academy. Wikidata Q139846230. See full Pay-Per-Result pricing →